Tick data management & backtesting

To add some color to this request.. i'm new to this so I would really appreciate comments that include references so that I can do this all on my own. I don't have the resources to test out different methods via trial and error. I am asking this question on this forum because I want to get the most optimized, cost effective structure (btw if anyone is interested in this project PM me) $500-$1000.

Has anyone ever used a stock trading software that also does historical backtesting? What I'm trying to do is create a script that can access huge amounts of data (terabytes) and perform calculations on the data and give me the desired results based on pre-defined criteria.

Example of the data:

date, time, price

I'm not sure what kind of structure I should use for the data so that when I am doing the backtesting; it is fast.

So for example If I was going to backtest my historical data; and the backtesting criteria was:

if price > x and indicator 1 is less < y; enter.
    if price > y and indicator 1 is less < x; exit

Do you guys think I should have all the historical calculations for the indicators saved in my data base? Or should my script be doing this calcualtion every single time I run a quiry. Keep in mind there can be many indicators that can be added to a backtesting inquiry.

I need your help with
    1)picking the type of database (I have the data; but i'm not sure what the fastest option we can use to store the data so backtesting is fast)

2)recompiling the 1 min data to different variables (5 min etc) - The data that I have is 1 min data; I want the program to be able to recompile that data to 5 min; 10 min etc if the user chooses to do so.

1)data storage hardware etc? What kind of hardwares do I need etc

And how do I do this/???

Thank you

out on a limb
    Terabytes of data requires a database server
    accquiring stock prices is going ot be time consuming and or prohibitively expensive.