Unanswered: A very basic relationship question

I am creating a BASIC (in relation to what thing you guys do on this website) relational database using access.

It is for a cleaning business so that they can organise bookings.

I think I need 4 tables:
    • Clients
    • Bookings
    • Staff
    • ServiceTypes

linking each of these to the bookings table using primary keys in the first field of each of the other tables will link them and allow me to do relational work (queries etc...) right?

Somebody told me that I need this though:
    • Clients
    • Bookings
    • Staff
    • ServiceTypes
    • ServiceBookings (this contains the "ServiceTypeID", "BookingID" and "TotalCost" (The ServiceTypes table has hourly cost of each service).

I don't know why he suggested the second lot of tables instead, can you please clarify?

Please note: I am a database novice, I have only ever made flat-file databases, this is the first relational I have ever made so please don't be too technical

Thanks

You got good advice, although the ServiceTypes table can be expanded to include how many people and hours are necessary for each task, and the hourly charge. The table contains information you will find helpful in quoting pricing (proposals), billing and in planning resources.

Each client may need differering tasks on a daily, weekly, or monthly cycle: take out all garbage (daily); vacuum the offices (weekly); clean out the fridge (monthly); wash the windows (quarterly); etc. This table can identify a task id (pk), and how many people/hours/$ it needs.

Your client bookings table can be a fairly static table, containing each client, and how often he wants each task performed as a separate record. This table should not be your master customer table, with addresses and contact information. Make a different table for that.