Design for Genealogy like database

Hi,

I am working on a database for a non-profit organization. We have people as individuals joining us but also whole families.

We would like to be able to link the individuals into whole families and track the relationship between the individuals.

Is there anyone that could help me with an initial design of tables and fields?

We would like to pull out the type of relationship (mother,father,son...). How do you design it in a way that we don't have to input the type of relationship between every person separately?

I have done quite a bit a search online regarding some data models for that need but very unsuccessful. Also I've read through quite a lot of posts on here but haven't found anything that seems to deal with this problem.

I am quite new at this and would really appreciate any help.

Thanks everybody.

Quote Originally Posted by jodel View Post
    We would like to be able to link the individuals into whole families and track the relationship between the individuals.
    seems legit

Quote Originally Posted by jodel View Post
    We would like to pull out the type of relationship (mother,father,son...). How do you design it in a way that we don't have to input the type of relationship between every person separately?
    you cannot pull something out that you didn't put it
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Certainly you could establish just the parent/child relationships and then derive relationships such as cousin, nephew, grandparent from that.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

thanks for your reply guys.

I've attached the design I have come up with so far but I am just not convinced and sure if that is it.

Could you please help me on refining it a bit more.