Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    64

    Unanswered: Connection Iusse using TOAD to Oracle 11g

    hi,

    I am not able to connect to oracle via TOAD. I have attached a screenshot when trying to open TOAD.

    From command prompt i have checked the listener status using commands
    lsnrctl -> status etc.

    Also i can login as sysdba to oracle via sqlplus ( dos prompt)

    Oracle DB version : 11.2
    Toad Version : 10.6

    Please advice.

    Thanks
    Subhotech
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails toad_issue.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    SCREENSHOT is devoid of any actionable detail.
    what Oracle error number & message results?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    64
    i am not able to see any options when i am opening TOAD. The oracle instance is up and running.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    when was last time Toad worked without error?
    What changed since then?

    you have a mystery & we have no clues.
    You're On Your Own (YOYO)!
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Have you ever used TOAD before?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    623
    Quote Originally Posted by subhotech View Post
    i am not able to see any options when i am opening TOAD. The oracle instance is up and running.
    Which instance? In the picture, connect information in the right part of the active window are not filled. What about filling it according your actual configuration?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    So you've started up TOAD, but have you then taken the next step and tried connecting to your database?
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    64
    I am using it for the first time.. Some of the environment variables were missing.

    I am getting an error oci.dll can not be loaded
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails toad_issue_2.jpg   toad_issue_3.jpg  
    Last edited by subhotech; 09-10-12 at 13:03. Reason: typo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Into which directory did you install TOAD?

    It is Windows 7, isn't it? If that's the case, I'd suggest you to uninstall TOAD, reboot, and start installation process once again. This time, discard destination directory Windows suggests (for example, "C:\Program Files\Quest\Toad 11") because it contains spaces in its name. Choose another directory without any spaces, such as "C:\Toad_11". Then see what happens.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    sqlplus is less user-hostile than Toad.

    SQuirreL SQL Client Home Page is freeware
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    64
    @littlefoot : i tried that still not working . @anacedent - toad is mostly used in most of the companies so its better if myself familiar with it.

    Some what the environment variables are not getting set properly.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >toad is mostly used in most of the companies
    I disagree
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Which directory is Toad now installed in? Is it exactly as Littlefoot suggested?
    Also, make sure you have 22-bit Oracle client installed - Toad doesn't like the 64-bit version
    Last edited by cis_groupie; 09-12-12 at 11:22.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Right! 22-bit Oracle client is the key!


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Stupid $$%%% keyboard

    I meant "32 bit"
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •