Unanswered: Conditional Visibility

Hi, I am quite new to access so can someone possibly help with a fundimental problem I cant seem to solve.

I have a combo box with options, dependant on which option is chosen I want to make a textbox visible.

This is where I am now and cant seem to get it to work.
    Private Sub Combo3_AfterUpdate()
    If Me.Combo3 = "On" Then
    Me.textbox2.Visible = True
    Else
    Me.textbox2.Visible = False
    End Sub

Thanks in anticipation.
    Alan

Provided Answers: 59
    The code looks fine, but its in the wrong place
    the after update event fires after an update is completed
    place the code in a function
    call that function from
    various events in the combo box
    the on click event
    the on change event
    and arguably the on lost focus event
    you also need to set the visibility when a row changes so place a call to the the code in the on current event

...its probably worthwhile understanding what evcents are, when they fire and the precedence.
    Google
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thanks for the advice but now poses another question. Function call and calling from various events and how it works is a mystery.

Forgive my novice like questions, working to improve.

write a function that encapsulates the behaviour
    VB/VBA supports two variants
    a functiuon which returns a value
    a sub routine which doesn't
    ..in this case I'd suggest using a sub routine

Code:
    private sub SetTextBox2Visibility()
    If Me.Combo3.value = "On" Then ' could be Me.Combo3.text
    Else
    endif
    end sub
    then in the relevant events call that subroutine
    you can use
    Code:
    SetTextBox2Visibility
    or
    Code:
    call SetTextBox2Visibility()
    BTW make life easier for ourself by giving all controls, forms, tables, variable meaningful names. you don't have to accept the default values given by Access

Provided Answers: 19