Unanswered: Notice: undefined index

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I have some experience with php/mysql/relational databases. I'm working on a hobby project that is not work or school related and have encountered a notice I haven't had before. I'm getting a notice of an undefined index, that is confusing me because I use the same code for my other databases and I don't have the problem. I've been working on this problem for several hours and I'm wondering if it's a database problem. But first I want to make sure I'm not missing anything simple in my php code. The webpage is formatted for html 5, but I doubt that's the problem.

Notice: Undefined index: amount in /home2/htmlprac/public_html/php/traffic_light/traffic_light_script.php on line 30

$amount at the very bottom of the script should show 33.

The code below needs to access the database to see how many vehicles are at an intersection. I wrote the code and setup the database and have checked the spelling of the table and column names multiple times.

Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en">
    <head>
    <meta charset="UTF-8" />
    <title>Traffic Light Script</title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css" />
    </head>
    <body>
    <?
    ini_set('error_reporting', E_ALL);
    ini_set('display_errors', 'On');
    echo "<h1>Traffic light sequence program</h1>";
    $database_address = 'localhost';
    $username = '*********';
    $password = '*********';
    $database_name = 'htmlprac_traffic_light';
    $connect = mysql_connect($database_address, $username, $password) or die ("Cannot connect to server: ".mysql_error());
    mysql_select_db($database_name) or die("Could not select database: ".mysql_error());
    /* Access database to check number of cars at intersection */
    $sql = "SELECT vehicles.vehicle_quantity FROM vehicles WHERE vehicles.vehicle_id = 1";
    $result = mysql_query($sql, $connect) or die(mysql_error()); // Did we get a result?
    $record = mysql_fetch_array($result);