Unanswered: Can I turn a table on it's side?

I'm new to MySQL but our ERP is migrating to it in 3 months. Bye Bye SQL Server

The vendor does this interesting thing where the product options don't have pre-assigned columns in the LineItem table. Instead they have tables called "Prompts" and "Prompt Answers".

OrderLineItem table has a one-to-many relationship to OrderLineItemPromptAnswers.

Example "Prompts" on the order are:
    • Width
    • Height
    • Color
    • and about 20 to 30 more, depending on what product is ordered

I need to return a single LineItem row with prompt-answers converted into columns.

We have dozens of different products, each with at least 20 prompts. Most products have prompts unique to that product.

Normal grouping doesn't put the PromptAnswer values into separate columns.

Oh please. Is there an easy solution?

PS: I can (if I must) port this database into SQL Server 2005.

Provided Answers: 59
    you should be able to do this using a stored procedure or whatever they are called in MySQL
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

What you are trying to achieve is called a pivot table. However, the fact that you want to return variable number of columns per row may be a problem. Some may have one response others may have 5 responses.

I think healdem is right and stored procedure is one way of tackling it or generating the response through your application code.
    Ronan Cashell
    Certified Oracle DBA/Certified MySQL Expert (DBA & Cluster DBA)
    http://www.it-iss.com
    Follow me on Twitter

Provided Answers: 54
    Since it appears that you can still use SQL Server 2005, you could easily build the desired structure using SELECT FOR XML against a linked server to your MySQL database.