Warning - Introduction & Looong Post!

Hi there,

This is my first post, so I thought Id better introduce myself first. Im a database newbie, though Im pretty experienced in spreadsheets and PC maintenance. I can pinch snippets of VBA from the net and adapt it to suit my needs in Excel, but my programming knowledge goes no further.

I have just taken a new job for a firm that is much smaller than my previous one and has some very arduous processes which I think could be sped up no end by using some IT. Thing is, I touched upon Access at college, which was a decade ago. Things have moved on since then, and I dont really remember anything. Ive Googled around to very little avail, there seems to be very little advice for someone of my skill level.

By no means am I asking people to do this for me, Id just like a gentle push in the right direction. When theres products such as SharePoint, Access, InfoPath, SQL Server, MySQL, Oracle and countless others I think Im at more of a loss than I was when I started.

Basically my requirements are as follows:

We are a small construction company and we carry out property maintenance. Id like a system that could allow Site Managers to log site progress, which could be used in the office to check against the wages. Id also like to be able to export weekly wages for all operatives who worked that week.

Ive attached a diagram of how I envisaged the database to look. I have 9 tables (so far) that are all related through 1:Many or Many:1 relationships.

The idea is that the Site Manager fills in the Work Elements, Quantities and Addresses completed, and who by (tblBooking Off). The Surveyor keeps the rates of pay up to date and the Wages Clerk keeps bank details up to date. Each operative belongs to a gang, and a gang work as a unit on a given item of work. Each gang has a leader.