Unanswered: Sales Commission Rate Problem

I have a master form named TimeCards, and on it are many fields.
    One is a combo that looks up the Employee and his commission rate
    It is named SalesEmpID and gets its info from a table/query with 2 tables in it.
    Employees and TempOrCon

I also have a bound control on the form which gets its data from the Time table and it is named SalesCom, it has no set default other than 0.
    SalesCom is used in the payroll function of the database to calculate the employees commission for that particular payroll time period.

I am confused as to what to do here. I cant really change the control source of SalesCom since it will throw off my payroll.
    I tried using the default for it with =SalesEmpID.Column(2) which comes from the combo lookup named SalesEmpID, I have another unbound textbox named
    TextBox500 which stores the value of the combo sales commission rate
    =SalesEmpID.Column(2)

Any suggestions as what to do so that SalesCom will use the value that SalesEmpID looks up and not change its control source?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails TimeCard.png  

I'm confused because you don't say what the problem is, or if you're getting any error messages.

Also, are you aware that Column(2) is really looking for the 3rd column? Column() is a zero-based array.

Sam

No error message.The SalesCom is set at 0 and right now has to be set manually.
    I am trying to figure out a way to automate this so that when a employee is selected via the SalesEmpID Lookup Combo, it would fill in the SalesCom field. I can do this by setting an unbound textbox of course which is what I have done and it works but even if I set the default value of the SalesCom field to this Textbox, nothing happens. I wrote this database a long time ago when my brain actually worked a little. It started out in Access 2.0

Provided Answers: 6
    Is the second technique here what you're after?

Autofill
    Paul