Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33

    Unanswered: Space allocation

    Hi,

    I have upgraded Sybase ASE from 15.0.2 to 15.7 version(using binary overlay method).

    Now i was running installmaster script to get new system stored procedures.
    But in the middle i found this error,
    ------------------------------

    "Space available in the log segment has fallen critically low in database
    'sybsystemprocs'. All future modifications to this database will be suspended
    until the log is successfully dumped and space becomes available.
    The transaction log in database sybsystemprocs is almost full. Your transaction
    is being suspended until space is made available in the log."
    -----------------------------------

    and my process got suspended.

    Then i allocated log space using the below command,
    3> alter database sybsystemprocs log on sysprocsdev='1G'
    4> go

    Now i was able to run installmaster script properly.i saved output of installmaster to file for my reference..But i still found certain error message like

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Installing sp_sysmon
    Msg 1105, Level 17, State 2:
    Server 'pqbsyb1', Procedure 'sp_sysmon', Line 981:
    Can't allocate space for object 'sysprocedures' in database 'sybsystemprocs'
    because 'system' segment is full/has no free extents. If you ran out of space in
    syslogs, dump the transaction log. Otherwise, use ALTER DATABASE to increase the
    size of the segment.
    Msg 2811, Level 16, State 2:
    Server 'pqbsyb1', Procedure 'sp_sysmon', Line 981:
    Cannot create procedure dbid 31514, objid 669242408, with a group number of 1.
    Msg 7988, Level 16, State 1:
    Server 'pqbsyb1', Procedure 'sp_procxmode', Line 159:
    The specified object 'sp_sysmon' is not found in database 'sybsystemprocs'.
    Check sysobjects to make sure you own the object.
    Msg 208, Level 16, State 2:
    Server 'pqbsyb1', Line 1:
    sp_sysmon not found. Specify owner.objectname or use sp_help to check whether
    the object exists (sp_help may produce lots of output).
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have similar error messages for other system procedures.I think these system procedures were not created.

    Can anybody say how much total log space/database space is needed to accomodate 15.7's system procedures???How to increase the space??

    Thanks in advance!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    115
    Provided Answers: 1
    Hello,

    You are almost there.

    The default size of sybprocsdev device, where sybsystemprocs is stored is 172MB.
    But for upgrade tasks, it needs an extra 10% of this size. So it will need aprox. 200MB in total.

    The thing here is, instead of increasing the log only. Since its a database with log and data together.
    Code:
     sp_helpdb sybsystemprocs
    You should have increase the data segments that are shared with log.

    instead of
    Code:
    alter database sybsystemprocs log on sysprocsdev='1G'
    you should have
    Code:
    alter database sybsystemprocs on sysprocsdev='1G'
    Because now you don't have a problem with the logsegment but with the system segment.

    So just give a little more space to the DB, restart and run again the script.

    Hope it helps.
    Last edited by Catarrunas; 10-17-12 at 12:02.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33
    Hi,

    Currently i have 124.0 MB space for database "sybsystemprocs".

    1> sp_helpdb sybsystemprocs
    2> go
    name db_size owner dbid
    created
    status
    ---------------------------- -------------------------- ---------- ----------
    ------------------------
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    sybsystemprocs 124.0 MB sa 31514
    Oct 17, 2012
    trunc log on chkpt, mixed log and data

    (1 row affected)
    device_fragments
    size usage
    created
    free kbytes
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    -------------------------- ----------------------------------------
    --------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------
    sysprocsdev
    124.0 MB data and log
    Oct 17 2012 10:31PM
    35456
    (return status = 0)

    I tried increasing both log and data space for the same.
    But its throwing below error.

    1> alter database sybsystemprocs on sysprocsdev='1G'
    2> go
    Msg 1816, Level 16, State 1:
    Server 'pqbsyb1', Line 1:
    CREATE or ALTER DATABASE failed because the device 'sysprocsdev' has no space
    available either for log or for data.

    why am not able to change space?How should i increase space?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33
    Hi Catarrunas,

    One more thing...,
    Does both the below command do the same thing???

    1.disk resize name ="sysprocsdev" , size="1G"

    2.alter database sybsystemprocs on sysprocsdev='1G'

    Thank you!!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    115
    Provided Answers: 1
    Hello NAFIHA,

    Wait lets take it slowly.

    There are devices and databases.
    Devices is the phisycal space on disk, where the database (data) will be on.
    Two diferent things.

    To "alter a database" you have to have a device to receive it.
    What happens in here is that your sysprocsdev device is full when you do your "alter database".

    First you should resize the device.
    Code:
    disk resize name ="sysprocsdev" , size="1000M"
    Now just make sure that we are adding the correct space do the following:
    Code:
    use sybsystemprocs
    go
    
    sp_helpdevice sysprocsdev
    And check the description field, it says there the amount of free space in the device, should be 1Gb.

    After you have space on the device, you can alter the database to be bigger.
    Code:
    use master
    go
    alter database sybsystemprocs on sysprocsdev='1000M'
    Now you have extended you db.

    So in conclusion, devices hold the dbs, dbs hold data.

    Hope it helps

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33
    I understood i guess..first i allocated space to the device "sysprocsdev",
    using ,

    disk resize name ="sysprocsdev" , size="1G"

    Then allocated space for both data and log of databases "sybsystemprocs "
    using,
    alter database sybsystemprocs on sysprocsdev='1G'

    Think what am doing is correct!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    115
    Provided Answers: 1
    Exactly, that's it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33
    Thanks Catarrunas!!!!!

    Yes
    I allocated space to the device and database
    Thanks for helping!!!

    Now installmaster script got executed without throwing any errors

    After performing upgrade,I ran only installmaster script.Is there any other thing i should do now in order to do complete upgrade???

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    115
    Provided Answers: 1
    You are welcome, that's why we are here

    Nope you are all set. If you had auditing running before, just check if it enable, if not enable it.
    That's all.

    Cheers, good work.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33
    Yes..Will check.

    Thank you

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33
    One more doubt Catarrunas.

    Since i have installed 15.0.2 version before,It created folders with the version,
    like ASE-15_0, OCS-15_0,etc.
    When i upgraded still i have those directory with the same name.
    Am expecting sumthing like this,ASE-15_7,OCS-15_0

    Where do we have control on tat!!!

    Thanks!!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    33
    sorry...Like this...ASE-15_7,OCS-15_7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •