Probably very simple question for you guys

I am building a database in Filemaker for a new company we are launching in Brazil. I am very new to database development. I understand the theory of many to many relationships and how to solve them using a join table, but i don't understand in practice how to use the join table, meaning what fields to populate with.

I have two tables, "customers" and "equipment" that have a many to many relationship as all customers will have various equipments installed and all equipments will be installed to various customers.

So I created a Customers/Equipment jointable.

"customers" table has
    Customer # (pk)
    and usual fields (name, address, etc)

"equipment" table has
    Equipment # (pk)
    and fields such as (name, description, price, brand, etc.)

"customers/equipment" table
    customer # (fk)
    equipment # (fk)

I want to populate in the customers table which equipment is installed in their house but am not sure how to do it. Any help?

You don't populate it in the Customers table. That's the whole point of the Equipment and CustomersEquipment tables.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Will all customers pay the same price for the same equipment
    Is there a need to record serial numbers
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Hmmm, maybe i worded it wrong. I know that I don't want to populate the data into the customers table. I have a customers layout and i want to be able to setup a portal that will allow me to choose the various equipments they have installed and the monthly rental cost in order to total up their monthly bill cost.

Sorry if I seem a bit slow, I am really new at this.