Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: At the start of Access, have a box of selections open up

    Hello all,

    I created a DB called Website Audits with a form called Audit_Review, which feeds into the table "Audit Review".

    Currently, when I first open the DB, it opens up with the first record (currently 1 of 12).

    What I want to happen is, when this DB is opened, I'd like to see a box with the following:

    Add Review
    View Review
    Update Review
    Exit DB.

    Add review: Upon clicking this, it creates a blank new form using the Audit_Review form.

    View Review: basically a "search", which by entering the unique Audit ID, it takes you to the review of it. No editing to be done.

    Update Review: same as view, but let's you edit things.

    Exit DB: exits the DB.

    Is this possible? If so how? I'm rather inexperienced in Access so I'd appreciate all the help.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    413
    Unsure why you need a new blank form? Don't you mean a new record?
    1. Anyway, either create a query or use table as record source for form.
    2. Make View Review a combo with a lookup for what you want
    3. Do you mean to exit the database , if so just use the OnClick Event and put DoCmd.Quit
    Or do you mean to close the form?
    If so, DoCmd.Close
    4. Update Review
    Dim stDocName As String
    Dim stLinkCriteria As String

    stDocName = "Your Form Name Here"
    DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

    I don't know what form you are referring to to edit, but you add code to open that form and then close the form you are on.

    Good Luck,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Hi Burrina,

    Yes, I'm sorry I meant a blank new record in the form I'm using, my apologies.

    Right now, like I mentioned it opens up from record #1.

    I just want it to open a new record automatically everytime. Not necessarily from record #1.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    413
    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    Use this on the onLoad event.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Ok, like I said I'm not too experienced. So in order to use that coad, would I have to create a new form, let's say called "welcome screen" and add buttons for:

    Add

    View

    Update

    Exit

    and then add the codes to each buttons property sheet/coding screen?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    413
    NO. Just add that code to the OnLoad Event of your form.
    In design mode double click the square at the top left part of the form.
    This will open up the forms properties,scroll down to the OnLoad Event and double click in the field, this will then show a Event Procedure,click on the square to the far right with the 3 dots on it.
    Do a copy and paste of the code,close and save.

    Hope this helps.

    Good Luck,
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails EditFormProperties.png  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    It worked, thanks a lot!

    And yes, I did a "find record" box at the bottom of the form for the rest of the stuff

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •