Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    45

    Unanswered: Getting locks after up gradation (8.2 to 9.7)

    Hi All,
    We are facing large number of locks after we up graded from db2 8.2 to 9.7.
    We have done offline REORG and RUNSTATS on database after upgradation.

    I have tried searching for root cause but still empty handed.
    Any help regarding this is highly appreciated.

    We are using AIX 6.1
    Below is the output of db2 level.

    DB21085I Instance "instance" uses "64" bits and DB2 code release "SQL09075"
    with level identifier "08060107".
    Informational tokens are "DB2 v9.7.0.5", "s111017", "IP23285", and Fix Pack
    "5".
    Product is installed at "/opt/IBM/db2/V9.7".


    Regards,
    Harsh Verma

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655

    Was AIX upgraded too ?

    Having seen exactly similar situation in my most recent project, I can tell you that AIX 6.1 needs a fix from IBM.

    I had investigated one place where they upgraded about 10 databases along with AIX at the same time. I found nothing wrong with the database all calls were served but in my report I had indicated that there were delays from OS and that those can be confirmed by system engineers only.

    Please note that IBM, Informatica and Microstrategy experts were investigating already while I reported. My repport was complementary second opinion and they were not bound on.

    After a week I was told by the project lead that IBM had found a bug in AIX and after applying a fix all was working fine.

    Please do not take my story as guaranteed direction, but may be you can come to same thought via your own investigation.

    Good luck,
    DBFinder

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    DBFinder, Do you remember the APAR #. All AIX APARs that can affect db2 are documented here:
    IBM Known issues for DB2 for Linux, UNIX and Windows on AIX 5.2, 5.3, 6.1, and 7.1 - United States

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655
    Bela,

    I do not have APAR # actually. I had moved on to next job (employer) by then.

    I might happen to meet them next week, If I find, I will post that in here.

    Regards
    DBFinder

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655
    Quote Originally Posted by DBFinder View Post
    Having seen exactly similar situation in my most recent project, I can tell you that AIX 6.1 needs a fix from IBM.
    Let me correct myself, it may be fix or some rte requirement. Since I cannot confirm at the moment, I will post back if I get the details.

    DBFinder

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    45
    Thanks...
    We have raised the same with our OS team..
    will get back to you for solution soon...


    Regards,
    Harsh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •