Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330

    Adding Query That Requires Info From Multiple Files

    Last evening I finished adding information to my first Brilliant Database thanks to some great help from MacHeuS. The database contains four files (three single sheet/tab files and one file that has three sheets/tabs). I am now ready to start adding queries but have already reached a stopping point at my first step. I researched the User Guide and watched the video tutorials but none addressed my issue.

    My problem is as follows: is it possible to add a single query that, for example, has to go to another file to extract information. More specifically, I am attempting to recreate a database that I did in EXCEL for managing my organization's employee training. In BD, I have a file listing all 'Employee Names' which contains their 'Job Title'. There is another sheet/tab on the 'Employee Names' file which lists the training 'Courses' that the employee has completed. A separate file lists all 'Job Titles' and contains all training 'Courses' required for that position. I want to be able to see what 'Courses' an 'Employee Name' is missing based on their assigned 'Job Title'.

    I had to recursive code in Visual Basic for Applications in the background of EXCEL to make this work in my earlier program. Is this possible to do this in Brilliant Database without having to write code?
    Thanks,
    Daryl G

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    87
    Need file to work on it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    MacHeuS,
    My intentions are not to have you do all the work but given the fact that I am only on day 5 of my Brilliant Database indoctrination, it is glaringly evident I have no idea on what to do - I certainly appreciate your willingness to help. One more question, on the file that contains the 'Completed Training' records, is it possible to enter the date that the training was completed? Ideally, the resultant field would have the identification of the 'Completed Training' and the date it was completed.
    Please see attached.
    Thanks again,
    Daryl G
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by fireant911; 12-07-12 at 13:09.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    87
    Check this. Writing dates is more complex.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    MacHeuS,
    I am getting an error when I attempt to open that file..."Run time error 13. Type Mismatch".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    87
    No one else tried it? Is it the same? Because it works for me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    601
    Quote Originally Posted by MacHeuS View Post
    No one else tried it? Is it the same? Because it works for me.
    I get the same error message and it then shuts down. The only way I can open it is if I create a new empty database and go through the process of trying to import it.

    Regards
    James

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    James,
    What steps did you use when you tried to import this? I opened a blank BD and went to 'File' and 'Import/Parse' (is that the direction you went?). What is the next step? Attempting to open the file in the normal fashion still presents the same error message and then shuts down Brilliant Database.

    MacHeuS has been extremely helpful and I would really like to see what he did!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    601
    Hi fireant911

    I opened a blank BD and went to 'File' and 'Import/Parse' (is that the direction you went?).
    Yes, you have to use the option “synchronise with another DB” and import the forms, and records.

    When importng the records, import the entire folder and select the “Root” as your destination. This will ensure you maintain the exact same folder structure.

    Regards
    James

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    87
    I do not understand, i downloaded here works for me. (My BD versiyon: V9.42 Server)

    Lets try with this file, maybe it works.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    MacHeuS,
    I'm sorry, this one still presents the same error and then immediately closes the file. I am using the v9.42 Ultimate. I still appreciate your help though I would like to see what you did.

    I am still curious if Brilliant Database will let a user initiate a query from one file while pulling information from another file? This seems like it would be a simple database function but there is nothing (at least nothing I could find) that would allow this basic ability. This should not require special, custom scripting since this is what databases are supposed to do.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    81
    hmmm.....im getting that error too

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    I am curious if anyone has an example that they would be willing to share that uses contents in one folder (Folder A) and compares it to the contents in another folder (Folder B). Folder A and Folder B contains several items so it would need to be recursive (Folder A item 1 compared to Folder B item 1, Folder A item 1 compared to Folder B item 2, Folder A item 1 compared to Folder B item 3... until all components in Folder B are exhausted then it would loop back to the next item in Folder A - Folder A item 2 compared to Folder B item 1, Folder A item 2 compared to Folder B item 2, Folder A item 2 compared to Folder B item 3...). I can do this all day long in EXCEL but have reached a major stopping point with Brilliant Database... (i.e., I have been stuck at this point for the last week). I would think that this is a very basic request for databases but I cannot find any help with this request.

    Continuing to utilize EXCEL for my project is not desirable as my main attraction to Brilliant Database is the fact that it is a stand-alone program. But... Brilliant Database is only an option if it can do the basic comparisons that are required. If I had just one example, I think that I would be in great shape and could then develop the other codes that I need from that one example... I am just stuck now and cannot proceed. PLEASE HELP!!!
    Last edited by fireant911; 12-11-12 at 11:39.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by MacHeuS View Post
    I do not understand, i downloaded here works for me. (My BD versiyon: V9.42 Server)

    Lets try with this file, maybe it works.

    I am also getting the same error.
    Which version of SDK do you use? 5506 or 5509?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    87
    Really i cant understand why its happens.

    For testing I have downloaded from here, opened with licensed version V9.42 Server. (Screen shot - 1)

    Also downloaded *racked version and installed it on Windows Virtual XP. It also works. (Screen shot - 2)

    My computer: HP Mobile Workstation Elitebook 8540w (Windows 7 Prof. 64bit).

    I want to help for this but i dont know why this error happens on your computer.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 001.JPG   002.JPG  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •