Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Access Report Clickable Checkboxes

I have an Access report that populates based on results of a query. I need the report to have checkboxes on each line for the user to click on and off independently.

I have tried using unbound checkboxes on the report and when you click one, the whole list comes on/off. When I make the boxes bound to a yes/no column in the table you cannot click them at all. It gives an message at the bottom that control cannot be edited. The reports are read only.

So, how do you create checkboxes that can be clicked on or off independently in the report?

I have also tried exporting to Word, and the checkboxes do not show up. Exporting as PDF they show up, but are not functional.

Please help me. I am a newbie.

If your Report is Read Only, of course the checkbox will not work! Selectively make fields enabled and leave the checkbox as enabled.

How do you selectively make fields enabled?

Open Report is Design mode.

Right click the field and edit it's properties in design mode.Click on the 3 dots next to the field. Hope this helps.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails EditProperties.png  

still not working

It says that it is enabled.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails AccessScreenShot.jpg  

Under Format is it set to Visible as well?

Yes, it is set to be visible

What parameters are in the query the Report is based on?

Well, the query reads responses the user puts in on a form. I have multivalue checkbox set up, so the user can select parameters of the work that is being done. There are many fields from the table in the query parameters. The two in the picture called used in plan, and n/a are my yes/no fields in the table.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails AccessScreenShot.jpg  

This can be done but not so easy.I refer you to these links to view the steps. You will need to embed a macro and use a custom menu for it to work.
    Add a custom macro menu to Word | TechRepublic