Thread: Wait for it...

Wait for it...

From what I can tell Access Database that I've inherited / been working on has serious problems with its searching forms; its actively searching every keystroke, meaning that for each number in 984358 the code searches through the 100,000+ records once, scanning for each instance of 9, 98, 984... etc.

Quite frankly, its slow. I've taken a look at the VBA code in the search form; the code centered on the search box looks like this:

Code:
    Sub txtSearch_Change()
    Me.txtSearch = Me.txtSearch.Text
    Me.Cmb_Search = vSearchString
    Me.[frmsearch].Requery
    End Sub
    I'm fairly new to VBA, so is there any way to stop this procedure from doing 600,000+ comparisons. Some ideas I've had was to implement a delaying function to wait until all the numebrs have been typed in, or passing the string to be searched to a command button that initiates the search.

Any ideas?

so if uou have a problem then remove that code
    or find a way to limit it
    I guess the original designer intedended this to gradually rebuild the combo/list box as the use entered data

what you could do is say chop the time in half
    you could check the length of the current string and if say even then requery, if odd then ignore. but you are not limited to that.. you coudl say search after 5 characters, and then odd numbers from there on in

right now the simplist is probably just ignore the requery and delete that code
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Odd numbers are also required to search for obscured tags etc.

If I turn this into a function, and return a string to be sent to a button that initiates the requery, would that work?

So the txtSearch would handle getting the keyboard input, then sends it to a variable (searchText). A button click will then take searchText, and from there send it to the query that finds all the relevant ID numbers.

Does that sound like it would work? If so how could I implement that?