Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    81

    urgent help required - remote access to brilliant issues

    Hi guys,

    Im having trouble to connect to brilliant database from home using static ip. Now before i used router and enabled DMZ etc and all worked well. However the router is no longer being used and i am now using uc320w router at work. This has port forwarding but i can't find DMZ anywhere, so i still configured the port forwarding to the port i am sharing the database on (6413) and the server ip address 192.68.1.2. However when i put in my static ip and 6413 it doesn't work. This worked before using a linksys e2500 perfectly. does something else need to be configured on the UC320 or my server firewall?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    605
    Not all Routers have DMZ because it's pretty darn unsecured. It's a very bad idea to use it. Specific Port forwarding is the preferred choice.

    Check the Firewall settings of the router. Even with port forwarding set right, the firewall can block the traffic.

    I'd also recommend using....
    Open Port Check Tool - Test Port Forwarding on Your Router

    When your setting up the router, this URL will allow you to check if your selected port is truly open to the internet and working.

    Regards
    James

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    81
    well i set brilliant on port 6413. I open port in the firewall on windows server 2008 and set port forwarding through cisco uc320w and still not working. Funny though i set 3389 for remote desktop and it works good. Upon using the open port check tool it says 3389 is open and 6413 isnt. I tried all the way down to 6435 and nothing. Now if i delete the 3389 from either the windows firewall or the router it says port closed.

    Why if i am doing the same thing for brilliant the port is still closed? Spent hours on this...its frustrating!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    81
    issue solved

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    221B Baker St.
    Posts
    487
    If you post how this was solved, it could help someone else with a similar "opportunity".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by papadi View Post
    If you post how this was solved, it could help someone else with a similar "opportunity".
    Makes sense. What happened is that when i shared my database through brilliant using port 6413 or any other port, that was not exact port opened through windows server 2008. Queer i know. I used a program to see open ports and the programs running on them and brilliant was showing as another port number to my surprise. So i forwarded this port through the router and it worked like a charm!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    221B Baker St.
    Posts
    487
    Thank you for posting the solution

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •