Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1

    Unanswered: see enough memory in DB2 8

    Good morning,
    I need to increment a parameter instance level in db2 v8, how I can know if I have enough memory to increase this parameter?

    What commands should I run?
    Thank you very much and best regards.
    DBA DB2 for LUW

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    177
    Hi georgipa,

    How many database are maintain under the instances, and it's the partition or non-partition databases?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1
    There are one database and non-partition database.

    Greetings.
    DBA DB2 for LUW

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    177
    What's the size of the database?

    Give me the output of db2pd -dbptnmem ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1
    In this release the option -dbptnmem is not available.
    I am using DB2 8.1 FixPak 11

    Greetings.
    DBA DB2 for LUW

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    15
    To see how much memory you have available on the server so you can increase INSTANCE_MEMORY, can you provide the operating system that the server is running?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by UglyBoxer View Post
    can you provide the operating system that the server is running?
    That would be too easy, wouldn't it? That's not how things work on this forum.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1
    Good morning,
    I am using AIX 5.3, DB2 V8.1 Fixpack 11.

    Greetings.
    DBA DB2 for LUW

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Quote Originally Posted by georgipa View Post
    I need to increment a parameter instance level in db2 v8

    instance_memory dbm cfg in v8 and v9.5+ is very different. In v8, this is just for instance shared memory. In v9.5+, this is how much memory db2 instance/partition can use / grow up to - this includes instance memory, database shared memory, private memory, etc... As I mentioned here http://www.dbforums.com/db2/1686979-...2start-v8.html, you don't want to set instance_memory high in v8.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •