How to create an employee database

I am new to creating databases, but I am trying to create an employee database to hold all of an employees information.

Employee Information Includes:

Name
    Social Security #
    Date of Birth
    Address, City, State, Zip
    Drivers License #
    Drivers license state
    Drivers License Exp. Date
    Medical Card Exp. Date
    CDL Classification
    Union Home Local
    Union Ticket #
    Union Classification
    Emergency Contact Name
    Emergency Contact Relationship
    Emergency Contact Phone Number

I also want the database to be "searchable" so that I can search for a certain employee.

We are in the construction industry so we do not have steady work. We hire people and lay them off when we run out of work. I would like to incorporate working dates for each employees as well as short notes on how the employee worked during those date (ex. safe and productive or caused trouble).

For Example: Employee John Doe worked for us from 11/27/2012 - 12/23/2012. Employee worked safe and productive, layed off due to a lack of work.

But I would like to be able to add working dates everytime this employee works for us. That maybe 10 times within the coarse of a year or it maybe twice and he was fired for some reason.

I would also like to be able to keep a record of any driving tickets or any safety violations they receive.

Not sure which program to use or how to create this type of database. I have a mac computer so, I know there are less programs for mac than there are PC.

All Help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Quote Originally Posted by bmonaweck View Post

Not sure which program to use or how to create this type of database. I have a mac computer so, I know there are less programs for mac than there are PC.
    There may be fewer business programs for Mac, I don't know if it's the case anymore, -- but you only need one. Take a look at Bento: Personal Database and Organizer Software | Bento 4