Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330

    Trouble With Queries

    With every step baby forward, I run into yet another roadblock with this program. I am attempting to use queries and even though one would think that this procedure is straightforward, I am finding it's behavior to be very convoluted and unpredictable.

    I have a simple query set up that appears to work when I use manually type in a value of a variable into a field; however, when I use script to 'Set Field Value (text)', the value that appears is NOT the value I had selected and the query then gives incorrect results. I can type in a value, for instance, 'SE-200', and it behaves properly but if I select the same value using 'Records From Folder' Open Input, the resultant value is a four-digit number ('1279'). Why is this occurring and how can I get BD to insert the value that I actually selected into the field?
    Thanks,
    Daryl G

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    601
    Can you upload an example so I can take a look at it?

    Regards
    James

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    James,
    Thanks for you willingness to help but I am just about to the point where I am going to give up on Brilliant Database. This is an excellent tool for designing forms but it lacks too much in regards to coding/scripting. Attempting to do any analysis of my data is exceedingly difficult - even for a very simply analysis. After spending almost two months struggling to use BD (one month with V9.42 and three weeks with V10), I have little to show for my efforts... that coupled with absolutely zero technical support/correspondence from Brilliant Database! I foresaw some great usage and applications, however, the scripting of the program is not very intuitive plus I have seen a lot of bizarre behavior from the program. Granted, I am new to this platform but have many years of programming experience though that is certainly not working to my advantage here.

    I should not have to post a question every time I attempt to do anything - yet that is exactly what is happening. I do, however, applaud this community for their eagerness to assist with answering questions and addressing problems. I have one more week remaining on my evaluation period and if communication with BD is still non-existent, I suppose I will look elsewhere.
    Thanks,
    Daryl G

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Daryl
    Don't give up.I am using BDB since version 4.5.It is really highly user friendly software.Only last couple of years their there is no support from the developer.Still once you master the BD I am sure you will develop your required programs in minutes.When you select a record through "record from folder" the result will not be a field value instead it will be record id.You store this in a variable.Again you format this variable with recordset field then you will get the result what do you need.Send your sample database.I will send you the correct script.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    87
    If you select record you can not use it as value.
    That number you see is record number.
    Look at this file, it may help you to understand.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    MacHeuS,
    I certainly appreciate all the help you given me. Unfortunately, I cannot even open up this file that you attached. Am I the only one who is experiencing EXTREME frustration with this program? I would be very thankful for any help with what I need to do to open the file.

    Why is this so difficult???

    Daryl G

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    87
    Look at this screenshots. This may help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Wrong.jpg   True.jpg  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    330
    MacHeuS,
    Great. Thanks. I understand a little bit better. You also answered a question that I have not yet asked (how you make the actual value appear). Again, MacHeuS, I thank you sincerely for your help.
    Daryl G

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •