Too many columns? Is there a better way?

Hi all - new to the forum - new to databases in general. Go easy on me here.

Not a programmer by trade - I'm an electrical engineer who has been tasked with a daunting data task, and I was hoping maybe someone here would give me a few pointers before I get too far down what is perhaps the wrong road.

I have the following scenario - we are building a relatively complex piece of industrial equipment that will be sold and delivered to customers around the world. Each of these units consists of various PLC's, Interfaces, etc. that all speak Modbus/TCP. I have a piece of electronic hardware that gathers data from 125 sensors and inputs and runs the machine based on those pieces of data.

The database challenge comes in here - the powers that be want all 125 pieces of sensor and input data logged to a database once a second, every second, for the past 365 days. I've programmed a communication library that accepts the incoming modbus/TCP connection to an embedded industrial PC mounted in the main control cabinet. I'm running CentOS6/MySQL with a LAMP stack setup on the industrial PC (it's got a 256GB SSD for local storage).

The data coming in is all signed shortint. I'm using the MySQL Connector C++ to populate the DB.

My "data" storage plan initially was simply:
    Main table - "LoggedData"
    127 columns -
    the first one is a sequential field (INT)
    the second one is a timestamp of when the entry was made (TIMESTAMP)
    next 125 columns - all shortint - one for each sensor/input in the machine. This is my main concern....

Also I was going to write a batch job that daily parses that main data table for each entry that has a timestamp that happens at the "00" second (on the minute record) and populate Table 2 that is a bit different:
    Table 2 - "SummaryData"
    12 columns -
    the first one is a sequential key field (INT)
    the second one is the timestamp (TIMESTAMP)