Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

dynamic database

It has been established that data can be manipulated in order to fit into a database. I am a student currently working on the concept of this scenario in vice versa where the database can modify itself in order to fit the data. for example if we look at a database from a physical perspective we can say that the database is a container of data. i am researching if is possible for the the container to adjust itself according to what is being inserted. i am currently trying to apply this multimedia files particularly video streaming. i was wondering if any one had any light to shed on this concept.

Are you thinking on a small scale like MongoDb, or are you going all the way to something like HADOOP? There's a lot of ground between those two, and the fusion products that combine them alongside a relational product such as Microsoft SQL HADOOP or pushing the relational database all the way into the sharding world like Azure seem more practical and useful to me.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

sorry i am a electrical engineering student in final year and this has been assigned to me as a final year project. so excuse me if i am not to familiar with the terms you have used as i havent had any previous experience in database development. i have been told by my supervisor that this hasn't yet been accomplished so im searching for a direction to be pushed in. i know that i need to start small scale first then build and ive been told to become familiar which languages such as mysql, php, java and xml. as of right now though im still in the dark, struggling hard to fully grasp this concept.