Unanswered: Paradox 11 form has lost incrementing capability

Hi,

We have recently upgraded our bespoke Paradox DB to Vers 11 and onto Win 7.

This was more by accident than by choice as we had a near total data loss on the machines running Win XP and Paradox Version 9. We cannot go back!

Everything seems to be working fine, we have run many tests and the ONLY error that is occurring is this: When we attempt to add a new record to our system, the next available record number is now not being assigned, instead the first record number is assigned [IE 1 instead of around 15690 'ish]. The DB , I imagine [as I am no DB expert!] looks at the last used number in the DB and then assigns the next consecutive, incremental, number? It is simply starting at 1 again, for now.

The form looks exactly the same as the one that was archived and when I check 'properties' the two match...no changes etc.

I'm at a loss and hoped that somebody here could point me in the right direction and perhaps advise if this is a simple fix or if it needs to be corrected by an expert etc.

If you could help, that would be wonderful and I truly appreciate any advice that could be offered.

Best wishes,

Mike

first.. if you had a data loss, and it was not from a failed hard drive, the problem was from within the data tables.. the windows version and paradox version, in this context, make no difference.. your tables are your tables, fixed or broken, and the table structure hasn't changed since late 90s..

second.. this is why experienced paradox users have always recommended a "next number" table and process, instead of the built-in "autoincrement" process.. when there is table damage, you usually lose the "autoincrement" links

you should rebuild the tables with the built-in repair tool and/or chimneysweep, then pack the tables with the built-in repair tool, to bebuild the indexes

please post your issue details, and any replies to my comments, on the community website/newsgroup, not here