Smile Unanswered: SQL Subquery in access 2007

Hi i am quite new to access and SQL, i am trying to master subqueries in access 2007, but even this query keeps coming up with Synrax error in the FROM Cause. i have looked at lots of web sites about subqueries and they all seem to be similar in syntax to this.
    I started with more complex ones and they all fail at the same point, syntax in FROM clause. ite driving me round the bend.
    i want to find 12 grader called jordan by finding first jordan then filtering for 12th grade.

SELECT [sub query trial].[name]
    FROM [sub query trial]
    WHERE ((([sub query trial].[name])="Jordan"));

this is simple data table
    ID name Grade
    1025 John 12
    1101 Haley 10
    1247 Alexis 11
    1304 Jordan 12
    1316 Austin 11
    1381 Tiffany 9
    1468 Kris 10
    1501 Jessica 11
    1510 Jordan 9
    1641 Brittany 10
    1661 Logan 12
    1689 Gabriel 9
    1709 Cassandra 9
    1782 Andrew 10
    1911 Gabriel 11
    1934 Kyle 12

Provided Answers: 54
    You posted your question in the MySQL Forum, which is for a server based database engine called MySQL.

Your question seems to center around the client based Microsoft Access tool, and its associated Jet file handler.

I'll move your thread/question so that it can get responses from the Microsoft Access users.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Provided Answers: 14
    Although I don't understand why you would use a subquery for solving such a simple problem:
    Code:
    SELECT Tbl_data.ID, Tbl_data.name, Tbl_data.Grade
    FROM Tbl_data
    WHERE (Tbl_data.name = 'jordan') AND (Tbl_data.Grade = 12);
    You can try:
    Code:
    SELECT a.ID, a.name, a.Grade
    FROM ( SELECT Tbl_Data.ID, Tbl_Data.name, Tbl_Data.Grade 
             FROM Tbl_Data 
            WHERE Tbl_data.name= 'jordan' ) AS a
    WHERE a.Grade = 12;
    Note: Tbl_data is the name of the table in my examples.