What database to use and learn?

Hi All,

I am being challenged by my company to improve the flow and process of 3 seperate projects through my department. We currently use large mulitple spreadsheets. We have been crying out to move to a database as i know it would massively improve our process. Money is not available for a pro to do this even though i have explained how much time it would save.

I have taken it upon myself to learn something new and solve my works problem. Here are my questions.

I have strong skills in Excel, like a challenge and learn quickly. I have limited experience of Access 2010 (all dept have this software) and many years ago i used to do web design and had started tutoring myself in PHP and MySQL.

Spreadsheet A - holds multiple data on one item, using simple layout for input and one worksheet to align the information for Spreadsheet B
    Spreadsheet B - holds all processed items where data is costed through an internal cost martix within the workbook
    Spredsheet C - holds top level detail for reporting

1) What is the easiest DB system to learn (design, programme and maintain)and put the above 3 workbooks into a combined database to simplify the process?
    2) What would be the best DB system to learn for a future in Database Development? ie if i enjoy it and become good and want to seek work in the database development industry.
    3) What would be the best DB system to use if rather than use a local network i wanted this to be something cheap and simple for anyone in our offsite locations to use and edit - thinking web based with secure log ins etc.

Any help would quite simply be brilliant!

out on a limb
    given that you are familiar with Excel, and have dabbled in MS Access my first thoughts would be use Access