Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: Backup buffersize

    Hello,

    I have tried to ask this question in the HP DataProtector forum but no answer, maybe you could help me.

    Our DB2 full backup is failing due to:

    [Major] From: OB2BAR_DB2BAR@****
    DB2 returned error:
    SQL2007N Specified buffersize of "8" 4K buffers is too small for "32768" page
    size object.

    Db server is Linux, the backup agent is HP DataProtector v 7.01.

    In TSM you have the option to specify the buffer in the backup command but it really seems like this option is not available in DP.

    According to IBM website the db should chose the optimal value but this does not happen:
    "BUFFER buffer-size
    The size, in 4 KB pages, of the buffer used when building the backup image. DB2 will automatically choose an optimal value for this parameter unless you explicitly enter a value. The minimum value for this parameter is 8 pages."

    Just let me know please if I can give any other details.

    Any reply would be very appreciated as I have almost no experience working with db2.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    What DB2 version?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Hi,

    "DB2 v9.5.0.10"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I suspect Data Protector just calls a script containing the DB2 BACKUP command somewhere, which you would then need to find and modify to use sufficient buffers.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    well, I supposed so too but it is not... the backup is done with a little utility file called db2bar and I couldn't find for it any buffer size parameter.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Well, if that's the case they must be calling the DB2Backup API directly, so either they supply incorrect parameters or the API doesn't do what it should. In either case your best bet is to contact vendor support; now you'll just need to figure out what vendor...

    It sounds like this particular backup had worked before. What has changed?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Hi again, I contacted SW support, there are 2 variables to be used in the .omnirc file on the db server:

    OB2_DB2BUFFSIZE can be used to change the value of buffer size
    OB2_DB2BUFFNUM to change the number of buffers.

    They are not listed in the .omnirc template, guess its better for them to have them hidden.

    Hope these helps others!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •