Question Unanswered: Setting up Sample database

Hi, I'm a beginner and have just installed DB2 for learning. I'm trying to test first simple queries on Sample database. I can see the local Sample database, and connection test is successfull.

Problem is that I don't see any tables in the Sample database. When trying to write the first queries with SQL query builder I don't have tables listed on the Add table view.

Many thanks if someone can advice how to correctly set up the Sample database.

Provided Answers: 11
    if you use db2sampl (executable) this will create sample db and create/populate sample tables : employee.......
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

Quote Originally Posted by tomcrow View Post
    Hi, I'm a beginner and have just installed DB2 for learning. I'm trying to test first simple queries on Sample database. I can see the local Sample database, and connection test is successfull.

Problem is that I don't see any tables in the Sample database. When trying to write the first queries with SQL query builder I don't have tables listed on the Add table view.

Many thanks if someone can advice how to correctly set up the Sample database.
    Probably a schema name mismatch. Try the following from DB2 command line:

db2 list tables for all
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

db2 list tables for schema <your schema>

Quote Originally Posted by cauliflower View Post
    db2 list tables for schema <your schema>