Question Trying the impossible :)

Hey guys, total noob here

I have an ambitious project that I have been planning for quite some time. I am currently using an Excel table to manage data related to my mother-in-law's trucking business. Over time (1.5 years), the table has grown into a monster, and I am looking to convert this over to a database software with a front-end. I am somewhat skilled in VBA (the spreadsheet uses extensive VBA / 50 pages of code), and in Delphi. As I am in the design process, I have not chosen a front-end for the database, but I am leaning towards Delphi or Access (based on my experience). So here is what the Excel sheet is doing.

1. It holds details about each load
    • Date
    • Load #
    • Broker
    • From Zip
    • To Zip
    • Distance
    • Weight
    • Rate

2. Broker is pulled from a different table via Vlookup/drop down list in the excel. The separate list holds the following broker information.
    • BrokerID
    • Name
    • Address1
    • Address2
    • Address3
    • Factored (Yes/No)

Likewise, the distance is processed from a excel sheet (generated externally) that lists the miles of the trip per state. Thus, the distance is divided by states, and I don't know how to incorporate that.

These two pieces of information are directly related in a one-one relationship.

Here is the tricky part; the overlaying structure of organization is a TRIP. A trip consist of several items
    1. It can have one or several loads in it
    2. It has several gas receipts
    3. It has several toll receipts
    4. It has some miscallaneous receipts

On top of that, each gas receipt has the following items
    • Date
    • Amount
    • Gallons
    • State

The other receipts have the attributes
    • Date
    • Description
    • Amount

There are several other options that are included in the Excel sheet, such as zip--> city via vlookup, automated invoice generation, receipt management, etc.