Unanswered: Filter by multiple fields

Hi -

I am a relative novice to Access and I want to place a button on a form whereby I can filter that form by any one, two, or all, of three fields ("Rx_ID", "First name", and "Last Name"). What I want to allow is for a user to click a "Filter by..." button which activates a dialogue box that allows valid filter ctiteria to be entered into any one, two or all three fields - then to click "OK" and have the form filtered by whatever criteria has been set (or if the record - or set of records - does not exist, to return a "Sorry but no records exist based on those search criteria"). I can do this in FileMaker - but don't know how in Access...

I have found the Me.Filter command...

Private Sub FilterBy_Click()
    Me.Filter =
    End Sub

...but cannot find how to apply it to my situation

"[Rx_ID] = " & "[First name] = " & "[Last Name] = "

I know will I also need another button to turn the filter off - but at least the code for that is straightforward... (I hope)...

Private Sub FilterOff_Click()
    Me.Filter = ""
    Me.FilterOn = False
    End Sub

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Hi Rramjet,

I was also looking for ways to apply several filters to a form through buttons, and I bumped into a possible solution here.

I hope this can help you,

out on a limb
    Provided Answers: 59
    a filter in Access is effectively an SQL WHERE clause minus the word WHERE

string / text columns must be enclosed in ' or "
    date columns must be enclosed in #
    ..both of these are so the SQL engine knows where the text or dtae literal starts and stops

dates should be in ISO (YYYY MM DD) or US format (MM DD YYYY) with appropriate separators eg yyyy/mm or yyyy-mm dependign on the localisation of the computer

so assuming that RX_ID is numeric (based on the suffix _ID), and lastname is string

strfilter = "RX_ID >1000 AND LastName ='Rramjet'"