Post Unanswered: Importing text files into Database

I inherited an Access database in which is used to import text files (.txt) that contain test score data. The data in the text files is in the “Fixed Width” format; all the fields are equally separated by spaces and aligned into even columns.

The users of the database wish to add more fields for import and which is causing the import process not to work properly. I created a new table to accommodate the new data fields, 56 for each corresponding column in the data file. The properties and format match for the new columns match the properties and format from the old columns.

This is where I'm getting stuck: the old importer was meant to import only seven fields of data whereas now we need it to import 56. For some reason the code in Visual Basic is not recognizing the new data fields.

I would like to post a copy of the code for everyone to see but I don’t know if I am allowed to. I am somewhat new to Access 2010 and any help anyone can provide would be appreciated.
    Last edited by mando013; 03-05-13 at 13:43. Reason: Clarify Access version

Provided Answers: 59
    eek going from 7 columns to 56..... thsats one heck of a change, Id' dbe suspicious that the data model/ table design was right.

how are you importing....
    if you are using am input format specification you will need to change that to the new format (or better yet make a copy and modify that copy.

again depending on how the import is done you may also need to modify your table design to accomodate the new number of columns.

is this a visual basic problem or a an Access problem? we don't know how you do your import
    if you post your code (just the bit thats not working as opposed to he whole slug of code for the project)
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

More info