Question Unanswered: Working With Dates

Hi,
    I'm a newbie - but moving along with learning Access. I am looking to pull report/query of all due assessments between two dates as follows:
    *LName *FName *Date of Assessment Due *Assessment Type
    Table is built with Assessment Type as the field label and dates populating each assessment type for a specific record. i.e.
    Lname Fname Assessment1 Assessment2 Assessment3
    Doe John 3/1/2013 3/11/2013 3/28/2013
    One person can have more than one assessment type due in a given time frame.
    What would be the best way to approach this?
    Any and all help is appreciated!

Provided Answers: 2
    Hello and welcome!

You've fallen at the first hurdle, due to the design of your table. Have a read up on normal forms. Your design here violates first normal form, by having numbered assessment due date fields. If a candidate has only one assessment due, two fields will be empty. If a candidate has more than three assessments due, how will you record this?

To get around this, you need three tables:
    • A table of candidates (with a primary key field defined)
    • A table of assessment types (with a primary key field defined)
    • An intersection table that holds the key to the candidate with one or more assessments due, the key or keys to the assessment types and the due date for each one

It could like something like:
    Code:
    tblCandidates
    C_ID      Forename       Surname
    1         John           Doe
    2         Jane           Smith

tblAssessments
    A_ID      Name
    1         Health & Safety
    2         Site Induction
    3         Basic COSHH Knowledge
    4         Database Design

tblAssementsDue
    C_ID      A_ID      DateDue
    1         1         2013-03-01
    1         2         2013-04-01
    2         2         2013-03-01
    2         3         2013-05-01
    2         4         2013-06-01