Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    66

    Unanswered: Install fixpack on hadr servers

    Hi,

    9.7.2 running on two Linux server connected with HADR. I need to install fix pack 6. I can bring down both servers at the same time, don't need to switch roles. Would this sequence of commands work:


    - Stop HADR:

    Primary:
    deactivate db db_name
    stop hadr on db db_name
    db2stop

    Standby:
    deactivate db db_name
    stop hadr on db db_name
    db2stop


    - Install fix pack 6 on primary and standby


    - Start HADR:

    Standby:
    db2start
    start hadr on db db_name as standby

    Primary:
    db2start
    start hadr on db db_name as primary

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    80
    Yes squence is correct.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    I don't stop hadr, just deactivate and db2stop.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You do a rolling upgrade to make sure it works OK:

    On Standby Server
    db2 deactivate db <db-name>
    db2stop
    apply fixpack (db2iupdt, etc)
    db2start
    db2 activate db <db-name>
    db2pd -d <db-name> -hadr (keep doing this until standby is in peer mode)
    db2 takeover hadr on db <db-name>

    On Primary Server
    db2 deactivate db <db-name>
    db2stop
    apply fixpack (db2iupdt, etc)
    db2start
    db2 activate db <db-name>
    db2pd -d <db-name> -hadr (keep doing this until standby is in peer mode)
    db2 takeover hadr on db <db-name>
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    66
    Do I need to stop hadr prior to installing the fix pack?
    Do I need to do a rolling upgrade if primary and standby can be shut down together?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    You don't have to stop hadr. as db2girl mentioned above, you just deactivate the db and stop the instance.

    If you can afford downtime, then you do not have to do a rolling upgrade.

    Cheers

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    you need to stop db2
    no - not mandatory
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •