Unanswered: Downtime while converting to mysql?

Hello I am Alex

I can't say that I am an expert on DBs, but I will be trying to convert an MS SQL DB to a MySQL DB soon.

I will use the SQL ways tool, and I have a doubt that I hope someone can help me with.

I want to convert from a MS SQL Db that is live and running without causing any downtime.

My "newbie-question" is if I use a converting tool lets say SQLways or any other will I cause downtime?

Thanks
    Alex

Provided Answers: 1
    Of course.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Not if you perform this operation as a side-by-side method. In-place conversion, as Blindman said, will result in downtime.

Can you tell me how I perform a side-by-side conversion?
    If I want to avoid a downtime how can I do this?

Witch tool do I use?

Any suggestions

Alex

Quote Originally Posted by xderpir View Post
    Can you tell me how I perform a side-by-side conversion?
    If I want to avoid a downtime how can I do this?

Witch tool do I use?

Any suggestions

Alex
    Two identical servers built with same configurations. One remains on-line while the second one is built from MS SQL DB.

Hi
    Thanks for your answer and pacience.

Could you specify this further?

I have one server online, it's the server that I want to convert to, the one I want to recieve my new mysql-DB.

About the one built in MS SQL, do you mean that I should use an offline backup-file, build it in my MS SQL Editor?

please give me a clue.

Many thanks
    Alex

You are not going to avoid some down-time when converting a live system.