Unanswered: Adding the amount of blanks in specified fields

Hi there!

I'm rather new to access and database apps in general, I've been trying to read up but I'm still rather confused on how I should approach this.

1) I have 10 fields (Session 1 to 10) which specify the date where my customers attend their sessions.

2) If the customer has not attended the session, the field is blank by default.

3) I'm trying to create a table field to calculate all the blank fields. i.e. the number of sessions a customer has yet to attend.

4) I can't seem to figure out the correct expression.

Really appreciate it if anyone could spare a few moments to help me out.

Thanks so much!

Provided Answers: 14
    You could try something like:
    Code:
    SELECT IIf(IsNull(Session1),1,0) + IIf(IsNull(Session2),1,0) + ... AS SumOfUnattendedSessions
    FROM ...
    Have a nice day!

Provided Answers: 59
    That will work, buts its a workaround for a bad design
    having 10 columns of what is essentially similar datain a single row is never a smart call

if all 10 columns were say sample readings taken at the same time, then fine
    as they are 10 sessions then your design is causing complications that Sindho has come up a solution

instead I'd be looking at something like the attached file
    you have a table for:-

Customers (just stuff about the customer, their name, contact details and so on) if yuy have multiple addresses then create a sub tabel for CustomerAddresses
    SessionTypesfor now you may have jsut the one row defining a block of 10 bookings that make up this session/membership type. No Bookings stores the number of days/bookings/sessions that this type can participate in