Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Greetings... and HELP!

Hi all,

I do hate joining forums cos I got stuck, but here I am.

I'm building a website here in the UK for a not for profit organisation to help people with their energy costs.

I'm self taught and have always managed to figure web design out UP UNTIL NOW!

I am trying to link a form to mysql using php. I've managed to get a test db working but my main db keeps giving me the final error message (as in, i'm connecting to mysql, but the data is not going into the form). This is odd and I've spent many hours triple checking spellings etc, and Google can help me no more, I've hit a wall...

Is there any chance Spry validation could be messing things up?

I hope someone out there can help. Shall I post some scripts?

Many many thanks in anticipation of your help.

Ed

Provided Answers: 10
    Hi Ed,

Are you trying to submit data from a form to the database, or load a form with data from the database?

I think this is a good resource to refer to: PHP MySQL Introduction

If you want to share specific scripts with us that would be great, just pop the code between [code] tags. The closing tag looks like this (minus the space): [ /code]
    George
    Home | Blog

George,

Many thanks for your swift response. I have tried that website before (and all others I could find). I really would have preferred to have sorted this myself but this time I am stumped.

Ok, so here's my php code:
    PHP Code:
    $host="localhost";  
    $username="...";  
    $password="...";  
    $db_name="..."
    $tbl_name="..."

mysql_connect("$host""$username""$password")or die("cannot connect"); 
    mysql_select_db("$db_name")or die("cannot select DB");

$title=$_POST['title'];
    $firstname=$_POST['firstname'];
    $surname=$_POST['surname'];
    $firstlineofaddress=$_POST['firstlineofaddress'];
    $secondlineofaddress=$_POST['secondlineofaddress'];
    $town=$_POST['town'];
    $postcode=$_POST['postcode'];