Unanswered: Random password generation - How To?

Good morning all.

I am fairly new to Access and have a large customer database which i want to auto generate a random password in the 'Password' column (8 Charachters)
    I need the script to loop through all the records generateing the required data.

I ahve found this script on this forum:
    Function CreatePassword(nLen As Long) As String
    Dim nRnd As Double
    Dim sPW As String
    Dim bAdd As Boolean

Randomize
    While Len(sPW) < nLen
    nRnd = Int(Rnd * 75) + 48
    bAdd = False
    Select Case nRnd
    Case 48 To 57 ' Numeric characters
    bAdd = True
    Case 65 To 90 ' Upper case characters
    bAdd = True
    'Case 97 To 122 ' Lower case characters
    ' bAdd = True
    Case Else ' Useless characters
    bAdd = False
    End Select

If bAdd Then
    sPW = sPW & Chr(nRnd)
    If (Len(sPW) = nLen - 1) And (Asc(Left$(sPW, 1)) < 65) Then
    sPW = Right$(sPW, Len(sPW) - 1)
    End If
    End If
    Wend

CreatePassword = sPW
    End Function

But I dont know exactly how to use it?

Can someone please guide me through the process in Access 2010 on how I utalise this data?

I also would like to autogenerate the login using the company name first few characters from that column to form part of lthe login credentials?

Is this even possible?

Thanks in advance.

Your humble student

Richard!

Provided Answers: 59
    its a function
    the nlen defiens the number of character in the password
    so the call is
    Code:
    NewPassword = CreatePassword(8) 'assuming you want an 8 character password
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Great thanks for that.

I dont want to sound stupid but where do I paste this script in Access 2010 so It will run?

Thanks in advance.

insert the function into a vba code module, wheterthats a form or report or more likely just a code module is up to you
    depends where you want to use it