Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Importing from a folder

Hi guys I hope you can help

This question was covered previously but not for a complete noob like me

I want to import thousands of records into BD but it comes to a complete halt in the middle and takes hours when I send the entire file.

My plan is to split the big CSV into smaller parts so the import goes quicker.

Is there a way to tell BD to watch a folder and process the 200 odd CSV file's.

Currently it takes almost 8 hours for my CSV and dies, it seems BD xeports the files somewhere as a temp file and when done imports into the database, I can only assume this because the file size of the database does not get bigger during the import.

Thanks in advance

Pierre

Provided Answers: 54
    Can you "divide and conquer" your CSV import file?

Break your CSV into small pieces... You'll have to decide what small means to you, something that makes sense. Copy each piece into a file with a constant name such as C:\BDImport.csv and write a BD script to import that one file. Rinse and repeat as often as necessary to process your import file in pieces small enough for BD to comfortably digest.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan View Post
    Can you "divide and conquer" your CSV import file?

Break your CSV into small pieces... You'll have to decide what small means to you, something that makes sense. Copy each piece into a file with a constant name such as C:\BDImport.csv and write a BD script to import that one file. Rinse and repeat as often as necessary to process your import file in pieces small enough for BD to comfortably digest.

-PatP
    It works - superfast

For those that want to know how to split the CSV get this download, works like a charm

FXFishermans Splitter

Provided Answers: 54