Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: Crystal Reports 7 and Migration from SQL2000 to SQL2008

    after migration to Sql 2008 from sql 2000 only one of our CR7 reports is failing with Cannot find sql server. The rest work great.

    What could be the cause of this? I have a very unhappy client at the moment.

    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    What application is reporting the error? Do all machines report the same error?

    How many reports work? What is unusual about the report that fails (compared to the reports that work)?

    -PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    In Crystal (including recent versions) I know there is some goofiness around changing the "Database" or the connection or the datasource. I forget whether version 7 had this menu option, but there should be "Verify Database" option in one of the dropdowns in the Crystal Designer. That should maybe help resolve the conflict if your database or server name has changed. You might also want to make sure the stored procedure being called by the report is in the database in question and that the procedure still executes without error after the upgrade.
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5

    Dynamic Database

    we have a software that changes database connections at each site. In other words, the server name is different at each client site. This has worked fine in sql 2000-sql2005. Now that we have migrated to sql 2008 it fails on this one report.

    Thanks
    Chris

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    and to answer the earlier question, only one report fails...the rest work...its a really important report though

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5

    update

    I checked on a client with sql2012 and the report runs fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    Well have you gone into this report in the crystal designer to make sure the database connection is set up the same as the other reports?
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    831
    Re-write the report.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Problem solved. We had a ParseServerName function that was ripping the
    \ off of the server name. This never showed up on servers because this is the first time we have had to use an alternate instance of SQL.

    Thanks for your help
    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •