Unanswered: Dividing but getting 0's in SQL Statement

I'm using a subquery to pull out sums and counts, and trying to divide one number by another. The results I get when I do the division are all 0's, except in cases where the divided numbers are 1 and 1, thus giving me a 1 back.

Here is my structure

SELECT
    SALES_ID,
    COUNT(P_CODE) AS "TOTAL WORK ORDERS",
    SUM(AVOIDABLE_FLAG) AS AVOIDABLE,
    SUM(AVOIDABLE_FLAG)/COUNT(P_CODE) AS AVOIDABLE_RATE
    FROM (****subquery here) A

GROUP BY SALES_ID

How can I get the "Avoidable Rate" to come back in a decimal format, or even a percentage if that is possible. I'm relatively new to SQL and haven't quite figured this one out yet. I'm pulling from a db2 server and using MS ACCESS to pass-through, making declaring any variables difficult.

How can I get the "Avoidable Rate" to come back in a decimal format, or even a percentage if that is possible.
    I might answered the question before. But, I can't remember in what thread.

Anyway,
    please try
    100.00 * SUM(AVOIDABLE_FLAG) / NULLIF(COUNT(P_CODE) , 0) AS AVOIDABLE_RATE /* in percentage */

Provided Answers: 54
    The problem is most likely the need for a datatype conversion. If that is your problem, try using:
    Code:
    SELECT SALES_ID
    ,  COUNT(P_CODE) AS "TOTAL WORK ORDERS"
    ,  SUM(AVOIDABLE_FLAG) AS AVOIDABLE
    ,  1e2 * SUM(AVOIDABLE_FLAG) / COUNT(P_CODE) AS AVOIDABLE_RATE
       FROM (****subq ery here) A

GROUP BY SALES_ID
    If this fixes your problem, come back for an explanation. If it does not, come back with what's wrong and we'll try again!

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Both of those solutions worked to get me accurate numbers, but is there a way to format those as a percent?

Thanks for the responses.. very much helpful.