Thread: Making triggers

Unanswered: Making triggers

Hello,

Im new with database and I have a question about a table with triggers or maybe a check constraint. Im using SQL Server Management studio.

I have the following create tables:

create table bid(
    seller char(10) not null,
    item_nummer numeric(3) not null,
    )

create table Item(
    startprice char(5) not null,
    description char(22) not null,
    start_date char(10) not null,
    end_date char(10) not null,
    seller char(10) not null,
    item_nummer numeric(3) not null,
    )

What i'm trying to make is this trigger/constraint:
    colomn "seller" from table Item will get NULL as long as systemdate is > start_date and end_date, then it will get the value from seller from table bid on the same item_nummer in both table).

I hope i explained correctly what i mean.

Provided Answers: 6
    I would avoid the use of a trigger in this instance and just place this logic in a stored procedure responsible for populating these tables. I do not know enough about your problem, but it sounds like you might want to run this stored procedure from a SQL Server Agent job.
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

My basic rule – if business logic needs to be applied use stored procedure and do not apply business logic in Triggers. It is a headache trying to maintain business logic outside of stored procedures

Provided Answers: 1