Unanswered: Help with creating a customer database please

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to using Access. I had taken a class on it a while back, but I would in no way call myself anything beyond a novice when it comes to databases. When it comes to things other than databases, I am a power user.

what I am trying to accomplish is this, I am trying to create a customer database for my wife so she can more easily keep track of her customers. What I would like the database to do is not allow duplicate phone number entries (possibly saying something like "there is already an entry with this phone number, would you like to view it?" or something along those lines). The reasoning for not wanting duplicate phone number entires is that her customers return infrequently. Because of this there is a concern that multiple entries would occur. I understand that setting the phone number as the primary key is a bad idea, and this is where I think I am getting stuck about how to approach this. Obviously if the phone number is set as the primary key, there would be no duplicates allowed. Is there a way to link a primary key to a number and have this queried each time a new customer is added?

I understand that a workaround for this would be to search for the phone number first and then enter the data afterwards, but I am trying to remove as many steps as possible from this system for her as she isn't very technically savvy.

I would also like to setup a cascading combo box so when a State is selected, only cities within that State are returned.

From what I could see there is no template that does this already. Is there any way to do this without writing code?

Provided Answers: 19
    As to your first question, I'd force Focus to the Textbox for the phone number, when a New Record is started, and pop a message telling the user to enter the phone number before entering other data.

Code:
    Private Sub Form_Current()

If Me.NewRecord Then