Unanswered: DB2 DBA for z/OS Interview Questions

Hi,

I am mainframe developer with 4 yrs of EXP as mainframe developer. I have completed DB2 730 (Elementery Level) certification and preparing for 732.I have no prior experience as DB2 DBA.

As I do some activities as a DBA for my application now (i knew some concepts of database admin) I have got call for DB2 DBA for Z/OS post.

Friends please guide me on:

1) What will be questions they can ask me in the interview. It will be great if some one share the Interview questions for mainframe DB2 DBA?

2) I am getting 5 Lakhs per annum,what will be my expected salary?
    I am completely unaware about package DB2 DBA is getting.

I dont want to miss this opportunity,so what will be the X Factor to get
    selected?

Waiting for your answers.

Thank You
    Raj

Provided Answers: 54
    Welcome Raj!

I wish that it were so simple as to have a few questions, and to know exactly what you'll get in terms of both workload and pay. At least from what I've seen over the last few decades, the DBA is overworked, underpaid, and certainly under appreciated. By underpaid I mean that the DBA contributes far more to most projects than their compensation reflects, even though that compensation is usually very good.

To be a DBA, and especially to be one over the long term that is dedicated to the profession means making a significant commitment to know about the tools currently being used by your company/clients, the tools that they need to learn about that are coming or will be needed, and to have a good working knowledge of every program/system/etc that uses your databases.

Because DBAs in general are hard to find, and great DBAs are very hard to find the compensation is great. It should be at least 50% more than for an application programmer when you start and it should grow over time. There is no hard and fast limit that I've ever seen, but 600% of the going rate for application programmers is certainly possible.

-PatP