Unanswered: Newbie MySql question about comparing columns in 2 tables

This forum has been really helpful in gaining knowledge and trying to get up to speed on MySql. I am brand new to Mysql but learning as I go.

I have 2 tables with 2 columns (Product and Inventory) and I am trying to compare the tables and create a new table that has the updated Inventory column and trying to find the right syntax. Table 1 is a Master list of 15k records and table 2 has 2k records.

SELECT * FROM table1, table2
    WHERE table1.column2 = table2.column2
    ORDER BY col1;

I think I need to use an INNER JOIN and I know this is a simple stupid question but to a newbie I am kinda lost and hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Any input is greatly appreciated.

Provided Answers: 59
    have you tried to run that query?
    if so what was the result?
    and did that result meet your requirements?

the where table1.thiscolumn = table2.thatcolumn although still valid is the old style syntax
    these days its recommended that you use the join syntax
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

I am definitely doing something wrong here when I use the syntax

SELECT *
    FROM table1, table2
    WHERE table1.QTY = table2.QTY
    ORDER BY table.SKU

I get 306,869 records that combine the 2 tables with with 4 rows.

Table 1 is the master list has 2 tables SKU and QTY with 15k records and Table 2 is a client table that has some of the SKU colums but has dummy QTY (1, 2,3) what I am trying to query is comparing table2 against table one and getting a list of the updated QTY. I know I am doing stuff wrong here.

PS that Tiger 800 is awesome. I am just a fella that toodles around on a Honda cb350 trying to slowly turn into a cafe racer..

joining tables on quantity seems odd to me.
    i would expect you to be joining on the sku or product number

or under certain circumstances the SKU AND quantity