Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: String concatenation

    Hi,

    I am using Oracle 9i Database. i just want concatenation the string as below

    Country City

    US California
    US Texas

    the output should be in the following format
    Country City
    US California,Texas

    I tried for wm_concat and listagg function , but it is not supported in Oracle 9i. Please help me to acheive this

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You know both the problem & the solution; so why do you refuse to upgrade to supported version?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    8
    I need to know is there any alternative solution to achieve this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by simius View Post
    I need to know is there any alternative solution to achieve this?
    write your own function
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    1,137
    Do a google search for stragg and you will find you can do it with a connect by query.

    Alan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    8
    Hi Allan,

    String aggregate function is not supported in Oracle 9i. I searched it.the option is to write the function

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >the option is to write the function
    The option is to use an Oracle version which has not been obsoleted this whole Century.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    623
    Quote Originally Posted by simius View Post
    I need to know is there any alternative solution to achieve this?
    Yes, there are many alternative way, which are described in this article: http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/...Techniques.php
    Some of them should be available in 9i.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Its not always the fault of the users that their on an old database version. My shop uses ORACLE 8i, 9i, 10g and 11 but our retail system runs on 8i because that is required by the application
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Nothing has ever stopped me from creating a new database at whatever version I desire.
    You can use the new features to access the old data WITHOUT any impact to existing application.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Not when the application is written for rule based and you don't even have that in 11 and we loose all support on the application if we change version. They finally came out with a version that runs on 11 and we are going to it in 6 months but for now were stuck with 8i.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •