Unanswered: 2008 Management Studio - Cannot find server

Hi, I'm pretty new to SQL Management studio but as I was using an old version of MySQL, I thought I'd use something more up to date on my new server.

I've gone through user guides and troubleshooting and exhausted google, still no nearer to the solution.

I'm using Windows Server 2008 - IIS 8 and Microsoft SQL Server 2008 with Management Studio.

When I open management studio it asks me for the Database Engine Server. I have tried (local), I've tried the server name and I've tried (Local)(Servername). When I search for the server locally and on the network it comes up with no results.

The server seems to be running, but I just cannot connect it to Management Studio. I'm working with an already completed database, all I need to do is get into it and run the necessary export-import script.

Can anybody help with this problem? I'm probably missing something quite simple but I have exhausted every other option and have no choice but to ask you all.

Have you tried registering the SQL Server instance? Can you ping the server? If so then try using the IP address or domain name (server.mycompany.com).

Provided Answers: 54
    Is there any chance that the SQL Service is stopped or that the machine is not turned on when you're trying to connect to it? I ask because I had a client that was complaining mightily that they couldn't connect to their SQL Server yesterday, and I discovered that the machine was powered off!

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

No, it's running on the same machine.

The weird thing is, MySQL found the server instantly.

I think I'm on the right track now. There should be SQL Server services available when SQL server is installed but there aren't any, not sure why or how to install then desperately?

Seperately*

No problem! Just go through the SQL Server install again and choose to install the SQL Server components.

-PatP