Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26

    Unanswered: recreate instance

    in one of our db2 server sqllib is in /home directory which cause 100% utilization of this. now i want to recreate the instance in new location /product/home. this is a production database so i dont want to create any problem in database. any one can help me with details procedure?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What is DB2 version and OS? What all is being placed in the /home directory from the instance?

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Quote Originally Posted by basith.bd View Post
    this is a production database so i dont want to create any problem in database
    If you don't want to create any problems, don't make any changes to your instance home.

    Most stuff in sqllib are just links or small files. The only files that consume space are in .../sqllib/db2dump. Check what's inside this dir and if there is anything old that can be removed. You can also redirect all diagnostic data to another filesystem by changing diagpath dbm cfg.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    They may also be placing transaction logs in /home, which is why I asked the question about what is place there.

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Not just logs, the default database directory will also be there, so careless folks may end up having all their databases on /home.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    My understanding is that sqllib "cause 100% utilization" in /home

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26
    db2 version is 9.7 os is aix and the sqllib cause 100% utilization

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What is the size of the /home directory? (please supply the output of "df -h")

    What is the output of "db2 list database directory"

    What is the output of "db2 get db cfg <database>" for each database listed above?


    Andy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    80
    I agree with ARWinner and db2girl.
    But if your active log directory is not in /home, You are faicng issue due to less space in /home mount point, and OS team is not able to increase space in that mount point and OS team suggest you to go for a new mount point then you can follow following steps :
    uncatalog database
    db2stop
    assign new path (/product/home/) as your user's home path
    login as root ( sudo )
    go to you db2 product path, inside instance directory create new instance
    come out from sudo
    db2start
    catalog database back.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26
    thank you all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •