Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    23

    Unanswered: Script to close current form

    Hi - I want to write a script which will run a report, no problem there. However, I need the script to firstly close the current record which is being used before moving on to another form.

    I am sure this is simple but I just can't do it.


    many thanks
    Paul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    264
    Provided Answers: 2
    Hi Paul
    Not sure from your post if you want to move to another form or a another record. If it is a form, I would keep each record type (form) in its own folder and use "select folder" action. To move to another record you have several actions available - can't suggest which with out knowing what your goals are. AFAIK there are no direct methods to select a specific form if there are more one in a folder (or "close a form"). Sometimes it would be nice to have a alternate form view of the same data (record type) but at moment limited to sheets which do have layout restrictions.
    Regards
    Daivd

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks - all I am looking to do is to close down the current form and then open a different form. There appears to be no predefined script to do this.

    Thanks
    Paul

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Hi Paul.
    When you say close a form, do you mean one displayed in a popup window? If so, you can't script that. A button needs to pressed by the operator.

    I always try avoid the popup forms because you can navigate perfectly between any form when they don't popup.

    Regards
    James

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    264
    Provided Answers: 2
    Hi
    The new action in V10 "close window" should close a popup according to help file but --- I could not get it to work and no further communication from support???. What I wanted to do was open and close a warning popup with a timer script. Anyone else had success - must try again in V10.1 when it arrives but when, who knows!
    Minor Improvements
    Script Designer – you can comment any line of code;
    Popup Records action allows you to setup a new window width and height size;
    The new “Close Window” action allows you to close a popuped window with a script;
    The new “Position” column allows you to show the record’s position in its folder;
    PNG images format is fully supported now;
    Now you can view number of records after filtering on the folder information bar;
    Regards
    David
    Last edited by tamcind; 07-30-13 at 17:57.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Didn't even know they added a Close Action in v10.06

    I had stopped using it weeks ago because it's not suitable for creating anything of value. Still waiting for that next release before I consider moving away from trusty v9

    Just fired up v10 again to have a quick look at the close action. Yeah it works and can be scripted.

    Paul, I guess you have to just hang in there until they fix v10.

    I've not heard anything from support in many weeks at this stage. Worst support ever.

    Regards
    James.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    264
    Provided Answers: 2
    Hi James
    Just matter of interest, how did you script the closing of a popup window?
    I can do it with a button on the popup form but this is redundent as there is already a close button at bottom of form. A timer script just won't fire for me while a popup is open and this is what I need to happen. At moment what is practical use except to close window and combine with further script actions?
    Regards
    David

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Hi David.
    One example would be to use an “On Edit” option for a field to run an “IF” command.

    If the user ticks a box, or enters in a specific value you are looking for into any field, then a normal IF command will run the on edit and Close Window, ELSE it will do nothing, or whatever you like.

    A timer script just won't fire for me while a popup is open and this is what I need to happen.
    Your right. Just tested this and it will not work with a timer.
    lol.... I'd report that only I'm waiting on many replies at this stage.

    Regards
    James

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    264
    Provided Answers: 2
    Thanks James
    Your idea could be useful if you want to exit a input form if the answer to first question is no - like filling in our income tax forms where no further imformation is needed if certain conditions are met.
    Actually I have not been doing much with BD lately untill they sort out all their problems - mainly following this forum to stay up to date and try to assist fellow users.
    Regards
    David

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •