Unanswered: How to get MAX date from multi table query

Hi,
    I'm new to joining, but use this forum often to get ideas on how to expand my SQL query knowledge.
    I've been attempting to try to write a statement that will return the latest effective date for a pricing inquiry. I've not been able to find any threads discussing how to execute this with 4 tables, so I do apologize if the info is out there.

I'm pretty new with SQL language in the first place, so forgive me if this is ridiculously simple and I can't get my head around it.

I attempted to execute the max effective date by grouping my items together and then adding MAX in front of the effective date, but this does nothing except take away the column header for the effective date.
    Here's my query. When I execute it, I still get a list with all of the effective dates in the list.

SELECT VendorRate.vendorID, VendorRate.vendorEquipmentNumber, VendorRate.eroType, MAX (VendorRate.effectiveDate), VendorRate.hourly
    FROM Groundbreaker.dbo.Vendor Vendor, Groundbreaker.dbo.VendorEquipment VendorEquipment, Groundbreaker.dbo.VendorRate VendorRate
    WHERE Vendor.vendorID = VendorRate.vendorID AND VendorEquipment.vendorEquipmentNumber = VendorRate.vendorEquipmentNumber AND VendorEquipment.vendorID = Vendor.vendorID AND VendorEquipment.vendorID = VendorRate.vendorID AND ((Vendor.active=1) AND (VendorEquipment.available=1))
    GROUP BY VendorRate.vendorID, VendorRate.vendorEquipmentNumber, VendorRate.eroType, VendorRate.effectiveDate, VendorRate.hourly

I hope this is enough information, but if not, I'll gladly pull anything else needed. If I can solve this, I just might be a hero in the office!
    Thanks so much in advance

I could probably create the requisite 3 tables and fabricate some data, but it would be very helpful if you could post the DDL for the 3 tables and some meaningful sample data (INSERT statements) for each. It would make it much easier to come up with a solution.

Thanks.