Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: populating fields

hell everyone. im new at Ms Access. and have a question that can probably be answered pretty quickly.... i've attached my form so that you can fully understand what im trying to do.

im trying to learn a way to switch the values in a field by using a combo box. or open for any suggestions.. lets say you have a cab company. and you want your driver to pick up Halle Berry and take her to the Music Awards. in my vehicleID i have the field called "pickup" and "dropoff"
    in the pickup field i want to enter an address, and drop off another address..
    ok. well im taking her to the music awards now. so everything is working fine. but my return address and dropoff address needs to auto switch , when she is ready to go home.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails test.png  

Provided Answers: 6
    I've written this type of thing for limo and cab companies. Here's some code to switch fields:

Code:
      Dim varPuCity        As Variant
      Dim varPuLandmark    As Variant
      Dim varPuStreet      As Variant
      Dim varPuXStreet     As Variant
      Dim varPuPoint       As Variant

'stuff pickup data into variables
      varPuCity = Me.cboPuCity
      varPuLandmark = Me.cboLandmark
      varPuStreet = Me.txtPuAddress
      varPuXStreet = Me.txtPuXStreet
      varPuPoint = Me.txtPuPoint

'copy destination fields to pickup
      Me.cboPuCity = Me.cboDestCity
      Me.cboLandmark = Me.cboDestLandmark
      Me.txtPuAddress = Me.txtDestAddress
      Me.txtPuXStreet = Me.txtDestXStreet
      Me.txtPuPoint = Me.txtDestPoint

'copy pickup to destination from variables
      Me.cboDestCity = varPuCity
      Me.cboDestLandmark = varPuLandmark
      Me.txtDestAddress = varPuStreet
      Me.txtDestXStreet = varPuXStreet
      Me.txtDestPoint = varPuPoint
    Paul

put the code where? in combo box, afterupdate. lol sorry im lost

In whatever event(s) you want it to occur.