Unanswered: SQL statement to obfuscate phone nums in DB2

I am new to DB2 Express-C and am wondering if a SQL statement can be run in DB2 that can go thru all tables and change (could be scramble, replace, random, whatever) any 10-dgit phone numbers found. In a nut shell, do a global search and replace on all fields (that contain phone nums), in all tables, to obfuscate any phone numbers found (private info).

I need to hand off a client's DB2 database (17 tables) to a software vendor to do some reporting but I have been tasked with making sure NO real phone numbers get exposed in the process. I'm sure there is a SQL statement that could handle a single table (then I could go into DB2 Control Center and run it 17x) but I am looking for a quick, clean way to 'prep' this DB before sending it out.

Thanks in advance to you DB2 gurus!

Mike

Provided Answers: 5
    Are you unloading the data to csv file for sending? You could just select 000-000-0000, instead of the column. There is, also, the translate function where you could change each number to another number, but there is no garauntee that you won't change one number to a real number from your database, unless, you threw in some alpha characters. I like the first option better though.

No export just entire DB

No CSV, I am actually planning on zipping up the entire NODE000 (incl sub-directories) so that the report creator can run it straight away in DB2.

Quote Originally Posted by dav1mo View Post
    Are you unloading the data to csv file for sending? You could just select 000-000-0000, instead of the column. There is, also, the translate function where you could change each number to another number, but there is no garauntee that you won't change one number to a real number from your database, unless, you threw in some alpha characters. I like the first option better though.

Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by mem5449 View Post